Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Genre: Poetry, Feminism, Non-fiction, Adult, Romance, Mental health


Synopsis:

“milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.”- Goodreads.


Review:

This book rendered me speechless from the very first few pages. I honestly have nothing to write about it except that it was beautiful. I can’t elaborate more than that because it just won’t do the writing any justice; you’ll have to read it yourself to understand and feel exactly how the writer feels.

The artwork is exquisite and the words just touched me in all the right places. I cried, laughed and by the end of the book, felt so empowered and loved, it felt as if the author herself walked out of the book and caressed my hair to calm me down. It’s about heartbreak, love and moving on from all the toxic things in your life. The collection does feel more like a compilation of a bunch on Tumblr posts, made into a single book ready to make you feel “relatable” but that’s exactly what I love so I’m sticking to my rating.

Disclaimer! I’m no expert on poetry, I’ve actually never intentionally picked up any to read them. Which is probably why I loved it so much. I’ve noticed that there are a lot of negative reviews on the book and most of them point out the fact that simply writing with no punctuation or pressing enter every few words does not make it poetry. And as much as I like the book, I’ll have to admit I agree. Therefore, I’d just point out that this may not be a good book for those who think that poetry should stick to being the way it always has been and have read them throughout their lives (because this will probably feel extremely cliched). All I’m saying is that I may have loved the book, but there’s a good chance you won’t. But it’s such a quick read it can’t hurt to give a go at it yourself.


Rating: ★★★★★ | 5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

