Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance


Synopsis:

Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. But when Olly moves in next door, and wants to talk to Maddie, tiny holes start to appear in the protective bubble her mother has built around her. Olly writes his IM address on a piece of paper, shows it at her window, and suddenly, a door opens. But does Maddie dare to step outside her comfort zone?


Review:

Everything Everything is about a girl who is so extremely sick that she cannot risk taking a step out of her house in case she dies to some allergic reaction. She has been more or less content with the situation at her home, with her mom- overly cautious to the point of being extremely annoying – breathing down her neck, and a nurse who stays with her about 17 hours a day, checking her vitals every now and then. All is fine and well until a new family moves in next door; a family that includes an extremely hot boy her age (surprise surprise).

The story picks up soon after this, where Maddie and Olly (boy next door) interact and it is adorable to say the least. I’ll let you all know that I’ve read spoilers for this book before and hadn’t planned on reading it. But the cover was so pretty I just had to get myself a copy and since it’s a pretty small book, I finished it in five hours (and regretted it an hour later when I had to attend class at 8am). I had been in a terrible slump, as I’ve mentioned countless times before, and I’m still not very sure if I’m over it. And this book did get me out of it, maybe temporarily but still. I was grinning from ear to ear through most parts of the first half. The conclusion however didn’t feel very well thought out. I feel like a lot of the things about her medical condition was left unexplained which kind of prevents the writer from feeling connected to Maddie, which is of course most crucial at this point. After finishing the book I also realized how perfect Olly really was. Too perfect. Unrealistically perfect. He was nothing but a supporting character who had enough on his plate to understand maybe a fraction of what Maddie’s life was like, but which wasn’t important enough for him. Atleast not more than the myterious girl next door he had known for a few months. I mean, I loved their interactions believe me, but afterwards it just seemed… unlikely. I repeat, unrealistic. The extra 0.5 star rating is for successfully getting me out of a bookslump, but otherwise it’s an okay book. Not good enough to make me have a book hangover but enough to get me through it in a single night.


Rating: ★★★☆☆ | 3.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

