The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

Genre: Science Fiction, Humour, Fantasy.


Synopsis:

“Seconds before the Earth is demolished to make way for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent is plucked off the planet by his friend Ford Prefect, a researcher for the revised edition of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy who, for the last fifteen years, has been posing as an out-of-work actor.IMG_20161209_142747.jpg

Together this dynamic pair begin a journey through space aided by quotes from The Hitchhiker’s Guide (“A towel is about the most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have”) and a galaxy-full of fellow travelers: Zaphod Beeblebrox–the two-headed, three-armed ex-hippie and totally out-to-lunch president of the galaxy; Trillian, Zaphod’s girlfriend (formally Tricia McMillan), whom Arthur tried to pick up at a cocktail party once upon a time zone; Marvin, a paranoid, brilliant, and chronically depressed robot; Veet Voojagig, a former graduate student who is obsessed with the disappearance of all the ballpoint pens he bought over the years.” – Goodreads


Review:

“In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.” – Douglas Adams

I haven’t had much luck getting into classics this year, and Hitchhiker’s is mostly definitely regarded as a classic. However, I have been looking for a copy for ages, and when I finally got my hands on it I was kind of disappointed at how small the book is. I recently found out that it’s part of a trilogy as well and I have absolutely no hope of actually getting a hold of the other two books.

Moving on the book in question, I was practically crying of laughter as I read through the prologue and  I could tell that it wasn’t going to be a “heart-wrenching”, “totally relatable” and “emotionally investing” book but a light, humorous journey where I can sit back, relax and enjoy the ride. I’ll have to admit though, that there are a lot of things here that I’m still not very clear about, but had enough idea to continue with the story.

It’s not the actual plot or characters that made this book such a great read, because in all honesty they were an absolute mess and hard to wrap my

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset

head around, but the writing itself. There’s no doubt that Adams has the craziest imagination and has a way with words. I literally doubled down with laughter at some parts, because you know that he, in his own crazy way, is absolutely right.

Overall, I quiet liked the book and I really hope I’ll eventually find the whole series. It felt good to read something nonsensical for once. Will recommend it to kids because their I’m sure if I had been fortunate to read it when I was younger, I would have been obsessed with space right now. The book lets your imagination run wild and who will grasp that better than kids, right? Of course, I’ll recommend it to grown ups too but be prepared to have to mind turned completely upside down. So long, and thanks for all the fish! 😉


Rating: ★★★☆☆ | 3.5 out of 5 stars

 

 

Leave a Reply

